order now

amazon bn ibooks
books a million indie powells
About the book

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose birdwatching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York’s wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City—an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit.

More >

home-events-banner

February 9, 2016 – NYC – Book launch reading at Book Culture 7pm  – 450 Columbus Avenue. Open to the public. After party details to come!

February 16, 2016 – Charleston, SC – 6pm  Library Society Speaker Series

February 17, 2016 – Charleston, SC – 6pm – Pop-Up Happier Hour Literary Salon hosted by Ceara Donnelley. Private event. Email if interested in attending.

February 18, 2016 – Mill Valley, CA – 7pm – Pop-Up Happier Hour Literary Salon hosted by Sukey Forbes. Private event. Email if interested in attending.

February 20, 2016 – Los Angeles, CA – 7pm – Happier Hour Literary Salon hosted by Claire Bidwell Smith, Jillian Lauren and Jenny Feldon

March 2, 2016 – Boston, Massachusetts – 7pm – Pop-Up Happier Hour Literary Salon hosted by Lindsey Mead. Private event. Email if interested in attending.

ALL EVENTS >

breath becomes air

Everyone Should Read This Book

If the weight of mortality does not grow lighter, does it at least get more familiar? (Paul Kalanithi, When Breath Becomes Air) I read a lot. If there were more hours in the day, I would read even more. Reading…

Read More

Posted in: BOOKS., DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., Uncategorized

13 Comments

you rock it

“You Really Shouldn’t Drink Right Now.”

On Friday morning, I saw my therapist for our monthly appointment. I arrived at her office at the early hour of 6am and took a deep breath. We had lots to talk about. There’s been a serious health diagnosis in…

Read More

Posted in: DAILY GRIND, Health & Happiness, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES.

62 Comments

birds

ADR Friday Loves 01.08.16

i’m loving… … this beautiful heart-wrencher.  … and this related review. … this piece on mentors. … this faux fur sleeping bag. … this petite, but profound book. … these words from Toni Morrison. … this mini dress. … these…

Read More

Posted in: Uncategorized

1 Comment

bookculture

The Fine Art of Self-Soothing

First of all, thank you. For reading my Monday post and for leaving such wonderful comments. It’s certainly been a murky time for me, but I feel both optimistic and strong and having your love and support (in addition to…

Read More

Posted in: DAILY GRIND, Health & Happiness, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., The Home Front

6 Comments

hay bales

Warning: This Is a Vulnerable, Rambling Post

January 4, 2016. 5:38am on the first Monday morning of a brand new year. I sit here, at my beloved kitchen island. My guy and my girls are still sleeping; the house is quiet. But I’m up. I’ve been up…

Read More

Posted in: DAILY GRIND, Health & Happiness, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., LOVE, Parenthood, The Fam, The Home Front, Uncategorized

45 Comments

anni1

Our 11th Wedding Anniversary

December 18, 2015. Our wedding anniversary. Eleven years ago, I got ready in my childhood home with my sisters and Mom and bridesmaids. When the time came, Dad walked me down the aisle of Holy Trinity Lutheran Church. I wore…

Read More

Posted in: DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., LOVE, The Fam

2 Comments

bdaymorning

You’re My Person

Babe, I had a hard time getting out of bed this morning. You were already up. My body was leaden and my mind twisted with too many thoughts, but then I heard voices and footsteps. The sweet thunder of our…

Read More

Posted in: DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., LOVE, The Fam, The Home Front

4 Comments

walkingwithgirls

This Is What Matters

Husband took this picture last night of me with my Rowlets. They were freshly-bathed and pajama-clad and we were walking home from dinner at Mom’s. I was particularly pensive as we strolled, lost in my own world, my mind stitched …

Read More

Posted in: DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES.

3 Comments

little by tree

ADR Friday Loves 12.11.15

i’m loving… … this essay. … this On This Too. … this floppy brim fedora. … this word. … this Dear Saint West. … this Brainpicking. … this tic tac toe set. … this site. … this question. … this…

Read More

Posted in: ADR FRIDAY LOVES, DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES.

0 Comments

gallery

Becoming a Reader

This is one of my favorite photographs of my oldest daughter. Here, she’s not yet two, with very little hair, and she wears a striped rugby shirt and sits alone in our big wing chair in the little library by…

Read More

Posted in: BOOKS., DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., The Fam, WRITING

6 Comments