order now

amazon bn ibooks
books a million indie powells
About the book

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose birdwatching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York’s wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City—an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit.

More >

home-events-banner

February 9, 2016 – NYC – Book launch reading at Book Culture 7pm  – 450 Columbus Avenue. Open to the public. After party details to come!

February 16, 2016 – Charleston, SC – 6pm  Library Society Speaker Series

February 17, 2016 – Charleston, SC – 6pm – Pop-Up Happier Hour Literary Salon hosted by Ceara Donnelley. Private event. Email if interested in attending.

February 18, 2016 – Mill Valley, CA – 7pm – Pop-Up Happier Hour Literary Salon hosted by Sukey Forbes. Private event. Email if interested in attending.

February 20, 2016 – Los Angeles, CA – 7pm – Happier Hour Literary Salon hosted by Claire Bidwell Smith, Jillian Lauren and Jenny Feldon

March 2, 2016 – Boston, Massachusetts – 7pm – Pop-Up Happier Hour Literary Salon hosted by Lindsey Mead. Private event. Email if interested in attending.

ALL EVENTS >

Ramblers cover

The Ramblers Is Out Today!

Dear friends and family, My new novel The Ramblers hits shelves today, and I’m so excited to finally share it with all of you. Thank you so much for all of your encouragement thus far. You guys rock. Truly. The…

Read More

Posted in: Uncategorized

3 Comments

reading book

3 Things I’m Doing on Pub Day Eve

The Ramblers hits shelves TOMORROW. To prepare, I’m doing a few things. 1. I’m re-reading the book. To remember the details of the story. Yes, I wrote it, but it’s been some time since I’ve immersed myself in the world…

Read More

Posted in: BOOKS., DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., LOVE, Parenthood, The Fam

3 Comments

and so

ADR Friday Loves 02.05.16

i’m loving… … this How to Raise a Creative Child. … these bookish Valentines. … this book of quotes. … this literary feed. … this page-turner. … these vintage sneaks. … this Holepunch tote. … this good news for overthinking…

Read More

Posted in: ADR FRIDAY LOVES, DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., Online & Onscreen

1 Comment

crossing

Crossing to Safety… Finally

I started reading Wallace Stegner’s Crossing to Safety several years ago. I downloaded it on my then-new iPad Mini and read only the first several chapters. The strange thing is that I remember loving what I read, marveling at Stegner’s…

Read More

Posted in: Uncategorized

3 Comments

feb 1

8 Things @ 8 Days Until Publication

Monday morning. February 1, 2016. 5:16am. I sit here, at my kitchen island, at the beginning of a brand new month. It’s quiet. I sip coffee and look around at the trappings of real life. Unopened mail. Avocados that have…

Read More

Posted in: BOOKS., DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., LOVE, Online & Onscreen, WRITING LIFE

6 Comments

apple pie

A Happier Hour with Sophie McManus & Helen Ellis

On Monday night, I had the privilege of hosting authors Sophie McManus and Helen Ellis for a Happier Hour Literary Salon here in my home. It was a robust crowd despite the wintry weather; we were all eager to hear…

Read More

Posted in: BOOKS., DAILY GRIND, happier hours, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES.

8 Comments

Ramblers cover

The Ramblers – Upcoming Events & Advance Buzz!

My new novel The Ramblers hits shelves in two weeks, and I’m so excited to share it with all of you. Thank you so much for your enthusiasm and support so far—it means the world to me. Here is more…

Read More

Posted in: BOOKS., DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., LOVE, Online & Onscreen, Uncategorized

7 Comments

love now

ADR Friday Loves 01.22.16

i’m loving… … this Happy Hour Without the Booze. … this small, powerful new novel. … this letter. … these sneaks. … these words on kindness. … this dish. … this Gossip. … this wisdom. … this little dress. ……

Read More

Posted in: DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., LOVE

1 Comment

square bridge

How are you doing?

Last night, after we tucked the girls into bed, Husband looked up from his perch on the couch and met my eye and asked me a question. How are you doing?  An iteration of the question all of us get…

Read More

Posted in: DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., LOVE

7 Comments

foggy museum

ADR Friday Loves 01.15.16

i’m loving… … this book. … these Ladies of Leisure. … & these Warrior Women. … these stories. … this restaurant. … this movie. … this dress. … these jumpsuits. … this Obama as Literary Critic. … these soups. ……

Read More

Posted in: ADR FRIDAY LOVES, DAILY GRIND, IVY LEAGUE INSECURITIES., LOVE

0 Comments